The Baseball Exchange


There goes another season by red

Quick depressing recap:

1st game: A downer, but I almost asked for it, since I knew that every time the yanks had advanced past the ALDS, they had lost the first game. (Not too smart, I know, but I’m just like that in the postseason. Just like I refuse to read any predictions or give predictions myself, not even only for the yankees, or even read about the series period, save the game recaps or an injury update and the like.) So disappointing, but by my reasonings, not life threatening.

2nd game: The worst game of the year, far worst than game 4, since it put us into a near unsurmountable hole, and the way Cleveland won it, tied in the 8th by a cheap wild pitch, and then bases loaded single where they all start leaping in the air and dancing like they already won the world series… the most “emotionally draining” game, defenitely. Plus the whole news about Joe Torre. And just when we thought Steinbrenner wasn’t his old self anymore. I really hate him, by the way. Love the yankees, the players, staff, fans… I hate Steinbrenner, a colossal jerk. Anyway, I felt strangely confident for the yankees leading up to the next game, I knew the yankees wouldn’t just go quietly like that.

3rd Game: There’s a big sigh of relief. I knew Roger wouldn’t stand long, and I wasn’t surprised that Phil Hughes pitched brilliantly, he had actually been the best starter among the Yankees for the last few weeks. Should’ve started game 1. Robbie and Damon helped too.

4th Game: Couldn’t watch by the fourth inning. Just the last two years all over again. For that matter, the last seven years. Just Damn it.

I’m sure so many people feel this way about themselves, but I can’t help but think I’ve jinxed the yankees. I was only a casual fan until the 2004 postseason, when I was still in middle school. For whatever reason, I just started watching the games and got hooked. Game 4 of the ALCS specifically. It’s just one of those weird things where that just happened to be the time I picked up the remote and said, “oh yeah, baseball’s pretty cool.” The thing was, they lost, I don’t have to tell you that. Disappointing. Anyway, I got really into following the games, reading about them, reading the statistics, the whole thing, so it was again disappointing in 2005. 2006, even more disappointing. 2007, again not even getting past the first round – ever since I started watching yankee games avidly they haven’t won a postseason series. What’s there to say? It gets on your nerves.

Another side note. People, like cubs fans, always seem to say, “You yankee fans have it easy, 26 championships, we haven’t had one for 99 years.” Yes, it is true that Cubs fans have it bad. But when… oh, I don’t know, Royals fans say the same thing, they don’t understand. It is so much easier for a team you know is bad lose than rooting for a team this close to winning it all for 7 straight seasons, but never getting it. Just like how a blowout loss is usually easier to take than when the opposing team scores 6 in the ninth to win. Braves fans probably feel the same way.

-Red

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

The Cubs fans are loyal and they are always there. If their is a day game the place is filled. Even if it is a delayed game from the night before and people had to call into work sick to get there. That doesn’t compare at all to Kansas City where the fans don’t show up at all.

The Cubs have been close to getting to the world series and have had bad things happen to them to prevent it. Sure they have their own selves to blame when they lose but sometimes you just wonder if there is a higher thing at work.

Yankee fans expect to win every year. They feel self entitled and that is why so many people can’t stand the organization or their fans. It is pretty bad when your team doesn’t win and you still feel you are better then everyone else. Something I am sure you don’t understand since you are a Yankee fan.

It isn’t just a NY thing. Celtics fans feel the way Yankee fans do. Like they are entitled to win just because they have in the past. I know people like that. In fact most of them are from NY.lol so maybe it is a NY thing.

Comment by FireDannyAinge

I feel we’re better than every one else? Well, obviously not, since they just lost to Cleveland. It’s just that you expect a certain amount of success, something we haven’t gotten. You would think you’d have something like a 1/8 chance to win the world series every year, so it’s just surprising when seven seasons in the playoffs go by without a WS win. By that reasoning, hopefully we’re due for one next year. I would also think that if I supposedly feel that I am still better than everyone else, wouldn’t I understand what I feel more than you? You don’t seem like a psychiatrist to me…

Also, as I said, the last time the Yankees ever won a world series I was in elementary school and vaguely aware of baseball news. So for me, the yanks have never won it when I was actively following them, so you could say that in a way they haven’t won one yet in my “baseball lifetime,” which hopefully makes my agonizing a little more justified than the middle aged man who’s seen 10 world series wins in his lifetime.

There are plenty of avid KC fans, there are those dedicated fans who’ve been following every game for the last thirty seasons, just not in nearly as large numbers as larger market teams like NY, Boston, Chicago, etc.

Comment by red




Leave a Reply

